We and our third party partners use technology such as cookies on our site. This is to give you a better experience, analyse how you and other visitors use this website and show you relevant, tailored advertisements. By using this website you agree to the use of cookies. You can read our Cookies Policy using the link in the footer of this page.

Accept cookies

Legal guide to UK motoring, sections for law enforcement, Driver licensing, learner and new drivers, buying and selling, speeding fines, owning a vehicle, wheel clamping, traffic information.

What you can drive


How to add higher categories to your driving licence (staging and upgrading)

If you hold of a full car driving licence (category B), it may be possible for you to apply for provisional entitlements in a higher category. There are also circumstances that will upgrade a lower category on your licence if you pass the driving test in a higher category.


If you passed your driving test on or after the 1 January 1997 and you want to learn to drive a larger vehicle, you may be able to apply for the higher category. Once you have obtained provisional entitlement on your driving licence you can take the test in that category. For example, a driver must hold a full car licence (category B) before being able to apply for a provisional licence to drive a lorry, minibus or bus.

This is known as staging and will apply from the smallest to the largest vehicles.

The table below shows the full licence that needs to be held before you can apply for provisional entitlement in the higher categories.

Provisional entitlement requiredFull licence to be held
B+E*, G*, H*, C1, C, D1, DB
C1 + EC1

* Provisional entitlement granted automatically with full B licence


If you pass your test for a larger vehicle category, in certain circumstances a lower category will be upgraded. This does not apply, however, to a driver who has already passed a test, which involves trailer entitlement for a larger or equivalent vehicle.

The table below provides an indication of the vehicle category held, the higher vehicle category that has been passed and the vehicle category that will be upgrade as a result of the test passed.

Full category heldAdditional test passedUpgrading
B, C1C1+EB+E
B, D1D1+EB+E
B,C1, D1C1+EB+E, D1+E
B, C1, D1D1+EB+E
B, C1, CC+EB+E, C1+E
B, C1, C, D1, DD+EB+E, D1+E
B, C1, C, D1C+EB+E, C1+E, D1+E, D+E

As a general guideline:

For further information regarding staging or upgrading of vehicle category entitlements, you can write to:

Helpful contacts Customer Enquiries (Drivers) GroupAddress

Privacy | Cookie Policy | Terms & Conditions | Contact Us | Google+        © 2019 UK Webwise.com Limited